11 months… plus some

on

Well I dropped the ball again on posting in a timely fashion. I think after 12 months I’m giving up on monthly posts (though I might be able to convince Rachel to do year 2 since she’s an infinitely superior blogger). 

Eleven months in a nutshell though- 

  • Still huge compared to a lot of babies I’ve met, but the growth has slowed. I haven’t weighed her since her last Well-Baby visit but I’m guessing she’s still in the 22-23 lb range. 
  • Babbling and talking allllll the time. She had several words but many of them are different inflections on the same sound- ma ma ma means Mama, more, milk, mine (I was not thrilled she’s there already but with a sibling I suppose it was inevitable that it’d show up earlier than with Darwin), and water. Then there’s a sound that I’m not sure how to spell because it starts with “da” but ends in a sort of swallowing sound. It means done or down or dog or Darwin. 
  • Luckily, she’s taken to pointing at everything so those few sounds actually convey a lot!
  • “Dog” is her most used word (maybe Mama but it’s pretty close). Every non-human mammal is a dog. The other day we were in Grandma’s pottery studio and I spent an unreasonable amount of time trying to convince her a clay sheep was not in fact a dog. 
  • Darwin is still her hero. There’s been an increasing number of clashes over toys and mamas’ laps, but they also play together so joyfully. It is everything I hoped for. 
  • She’s developed a really sweet relationship with Rachel. She points to Rachel and proudly says “Mama!” And I’m pretty sure Rachel got the first real hugs. It makes my heart so full. 

We’ve been really enjoying our summer so far. Now that I’m out of classes, I have been home with the girls full time, doing work during nap or, more often, after they’re in bed. It’s so wonderful both to have some work to keep my head in the game but also to not have a million things to focus on. It’s also been so perfect and necessary to have so much down time with Darwin. We loved our swap situation, but it became clear that it wasn’t really meeting our needs anymore. Linnea is on a loose but regular nap schedule for the first time every, really, and Darwin’s anxiety is so much less when we aren’t having to rush out the door. We all miss having such easy and regular access to our friends, but I still feel like this is a net win. 

Yesterday Rachel worked from home in the morning and then we had a picnic lunch in the backyard and spent the afternoon at the park, throwing rocks into the river and playing in the grass. It was such a perfect way to mark the solstice, and I hope is an indicator of the summer to come. 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. sofhearts says:

    That picture of Linnea and Darwin is too cute! J had a really hard time believing that goats were not dogs, which I found pretty hilarious. But I guess sheep and goats do look a bit more like dogs than a lot of other mammals.
    Your posts and Rachel’s posts make me excited about raising two close-in-age sisters!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. buggleboo says:

      Haha yeah I remember Darwin calling everything kitty for a while too. I guess it’s normal! And yes absolutely on having two close together. We did it very deliberately and I’ve never regretted it!

      Liked by 2 people

    2. Lemon Drop says:

      Clementine knew dog, cat, and camel. All other quadruped mammals were camels for a while.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pugbug! says:

    “The other day we were in Grandma’s pottery studio and I spent an unreasonable amount of time trying to convince her a clay sheep was not in fact a dog.” OMG I lol’d at this, what an adorable image. Sheep, goats, dogs…quadrapeds are super interchangeable at this age!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

