My postpartum body 

on

I’m up about 15 lbs over my pre-pregnancy weight. That doesn’t feel like a huge amount in the scheme of things except that I was already considered obese and have struggled all of my adult life with my weight. Sometimes, especially in recent years, the major reason for the struggle is health related but even then there’s always been that vein of vanity/cowing to patriarchal beauty standards/self consciousness. But now, despite my poochy belly and too-tight pants, the problem is just that I hurt. I have no core strength anymore and I’m carrying around a 17+ lb baby so I have chronic back pain. The plan was that I was going to start running- I even got a jogging stroller off the local gift economy group- but I’ve developed plantar fascitis in one foot and re-developed Achilles tendinitis in the other so even walking is painful. I want to go to the gym and maybe do a little light weight lifting or get on the elliptical but I feel so guilty using the few baby free hours I have each week for anything other than work. I know that my weight causes my pain which continues my sedentary habits but I feel stuck in this weaker, heavier, less fun body. I just want to feel like myself again. 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. AmyApplesnail says:

    I’m sorry you’re struggling with this. A healthy mom is a happy mom is a happy family, so don’t feel guilty putting your self care before work, if you can swing it financially. I know it’s easier said than done, but you deserve to feel better! I get terrible back pain from carrying around my 13lb baby and I know I have to work on my core strength, and I know how hard it is to make the time. I hope you can manage to squeeze in self care time and can start feeling better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. buggleboo says:

      Thank you! I’m working on setting up some more childcare so that might free up some time so I can feel less guilty!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like you have a lot going on! If I could offer any advice it would be: take time to care for yourself (body and mind)–you are important! There is no one right way to be or to do, but as a fellow-mom, I feel like it’s so important to hear the message that you matter! and that it’s OK to take time to do the things that make you feel fulfilled and happy. If that’s exercise, great! If it’s crafting, awesome! If it’s sitting quietly and enjoying a cup of tea, have at it! The community of moms everywhere is with you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. buggleboo says:

      Thank you- sometimes just having the “permission” (validation?) can be enough to prod me to do the thing… thanks for the reminder that my community has my back, too!

      Like

  3. Molly says:

    Girl, I feel you on this big time. I was all set to start running again and then I fell (twice!) in my kitchen (yes, twice!) on Charlotte’s birthday and I hurt my hip. It feels like it’s always something. I weigh just as much right now as I did at my last OB appt before Charlotte was born. Ugh.

    Like

  4. pepibebe says:

    Hi – totally late to comment but if you are anything like me then the Plantar Fascitis is still hanging around making you suffer? If so then try googling (& buying!!) something called ‘Yoga toes’… my osteopath told me about them numerous times and I thought it was yet another stretch he was telling me to google so didn’t lol. Eventually worked out it was a nifty little ‘gadget’ thing that stretch your toes and somehow totally fixed up my issues! So try them please!! And follow the instructions hehe (speaking from experience as someone who thought leaving them on for longer would help get better results!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. buggleboo says:

      Wow thanks for the tip! My feet have been really painful this week especially. I’ll check them out!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. pepibebe says:

        I really hope they help you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

