Why I Love Grad School

on

Because my job is essentially getting to read stuff I want to anyway. Last term this was definitely not the case (I took statistics and research methods) but this term I’m in Reproductive Justice and Human Evolution, both electives.

For RJ I’m reading How to Get A Girl Pregnant by Karleen Pendleton Jiménez, On Becoming A Teen Mom: Life Before Pregnancy by Mary Patrice Erdmans and Timothy Black, and Birth As An American Rite of Passage by Robbie Davis-Floyd, plus numerous articles and popular websites and other sources.

For Evo I have a textbook of course, but I’m ridiculously excited to read about evolutionary theory and ecomorphology and how to identify a hominin from other hominoids.

I know in a few weeks I’ll be stressed and under more pressure, but right now it’s nice to remember why I chose this field. ^_^

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. AmyApplesnail says:

    Thanks for the reminder of how grad school can be great. I sometimes start to think of it too much like something I HAVE to do, and forget that I should just be enjoying the readings that I would probably choose to read even if I didn’t have to. Sometimes the “have to” factor demotivates me…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. buggleboo says:

      I totally and completely understand! I try to remind myself regularly how much of a privilege it is to be able to be where I am, doing what I’m doing– even when it’s hard and a little boring!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

