20 weeks!

on

This is gonna be a short post because I’m sure I’ll have more to say this afternoon- today is ultrasound day! LittleRainbowBug or I will do a proper 20 weeks post later, but for now I just wanted to say that pregnancy is weird and is kind of messing with my mind.

Specifically, I’ve been a lifelong vegetarian. I first tried meat in high school. I have eaten bacon at several points because let’s be honest, it’s delicious. But overall I’d still call myself a vegetarian. Until Wednesday.

On Wednesday I had an inexplicable craving for a BLT, and I knew the soy bacon was not going to cut it. So I went to Subway and got what I would really call a veggie sub with bacon (it had way more than lettuce and tomato). I had an upset stomach later but overall felt it was worth it. Yesterday I went to the coffee shop on campus,  intending to get a muffin, but somehow ended up with a bacon and egg bagel sandwich. Then last night was the real kicker. I was planning to have popcorn for dinner, but I knew Rachel needed more than that so I heated up some leftover pulled pork. Something, I don’t know what, enticed me to try it. It wasn’t bad! It didn’t make me gag like meat (besides bacon) has mostly done up to this point. So I made myself a little bowl of pulled pork and mashed potatoes and ate all of it and was perfectly happy with no upset stomach later. Popcorn was forgotten.

It was weird, y’all, and really of all meats to suddenly eat with no problem, pork??? Chicken I could have seen. Fish even (I’m going to experiment with fish tonight). But pork? Really? 

Whatever. My midwives will be thrilled. šŸ˜‰

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I was a vegetarian for 7 years before getting pregnant. When I was pregnant I was so tired and weak and could never get enough protein (because I also hate yogurt and nuts) so finally gave it. I’m not going to lie, I instantly felt amazing. I stuck with meat but will say that I eat way less vegetables now so need to find a balance.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lemon Drop says:

    Red meat = iron, a common biological craving during pregnancy

    Hope the ultrasound goes/went well!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Caitlin says:

    I ate a variety of meats during the first trimester, and we’re normally vegetarian (occasionally pescatarian, sometimes vegan). I could tell that I was craving the protein, so I didn’t resist. It’s funny that your craving was bacon – you must need the salt too!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. buggleboo says:

      Haha could be- or it might be that since it’s the only meat I’ve really eaten it made sense that that’s where my mind would go? I didn’t crave the pork by any means, it just smelled so good while I was heating it up for Rachel…!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Talya says:

    Looks like the little one is going to be a meat eater! šŸ™‚ Good luck with that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. buggleboo says:

      Looks that way! I’m the only vegetarian in our house right now so it won’t be anything new haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

