Liebster!

https://acookingpotandtwistedtales.files.wordpress.com/2015/09/liebster-award.png?w=1000 I woke up the other morning and checked the notifications on my phone– email, Facebook, WordPress– to discover that I had been nominated for the Liebster Award by the lovely Jacqueline over at A Cooking Pot and Twisted Tales. Her blog was one of treasures I found during the Blogging 101 course I participated in earlier this summer. I always enjoy her stories and wit, as well as her thoughtful and kind comments on my own blog– I encourage you all to go check out her writing! Thank you Jacqueline!

In turn, I am nominating the following bloggers for the award:

Yards of Happiness – A knitting blog that makes me happy

Haddon Musings – A little bit of everything. I’ve been particularly enjoying Feminist Fridays.

The English Student – Reviews, analyses, and thoughts on literature and pop culture with a feminist lens.

The Totally Serious, Absolutely Professional Blog – Humor, photography, and Whacky Quiz Wednesdays!

And then my current favorite family and parenting blogs:

MamaDuckdk

Pot and Lid Make Kid

Chronicles of a Non-Belly Mama

Little Rainbow Bug

Here are the rules:

  1. Link back the person who nominated you.
  2. Answer the 11 questions given to you by the nominator.
  3. Display the Liebster award logo in your post.
  4. Nominate other bloggers.
  5. Create 11 questions for the nominees.
  6. Notify all nominees via social media or blogs.

Questions from Jacqueline:

  1. What was the most difficult job you ever did?
    Are we talking paid labor here? If yes, then probably the 2 1/2  years I worked at an assisted living facility. I did a few different jobs there, including caregiving (direct care- assisting residents with activities of daily living: hygiene, bathrooms, in some cases feeding), medication aid (handing out medications per Doc’s orders, administering insulin, etc), and resident care manager (meeting with residents and their families to make sure their needs were being met, and to make sure their care plan matched up with what they were actually getting – this usually meant asking for more money, as they were getting services they weren’t paying for).
    If we’re including unpaid, then it’s parenting. Hands down. It’s like caregiving, except all the time and for someone who rarely tries to make it easier on you. The residents at the ALF didn’t usually throw a fit when I tried to put a shirt over their heads (*usually*), and they didn’t spend mealtimes trying to give their dinner to the dog. They also went to bed amazingly easily. And there’s no overtime pay in parenting.
  2. If there is one thing you could change about yourself what would that be?
    I would have better willpower and/or the things that are good for me would align more closely with things I like. I am not good at avoiding things that are bad for me but make me feel good (donuts), and I’m not good at making myself do things that are good for me but that I don’t like (running, or cleaning my room).
  3. When you were growing up, did you think about becoming famous when you grow up?
    Yup, I just *knew* I was going to be a famous author.
  4. Name and share one song you listen to repeatedly and why?
    99 luftballons by Nena. It just makes me feel good!
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9CnDvtwYn6I
  5. Do you enjoy dancing or are you a wall flower?
    Both? I love dancing but not in front of other people, haha. I always assume I look like a fish out of water, flopping around with no real rhythm.
  6. What is that one thing that always brings a smile to your face?
    My daughter. She’s the best thing to cheer me up when I’m grumpy, especially when she’s feeling cuddly 🙂
  7. What is your favorite color?
    Purple. It’s the color of justice! Pink was my favorite for a long time, and then it just kind of abruptly changed to purple one day. I used to say “Purple is like pink all grown up.”
  8. What would you like as a surprise vacation?
    Somewhere warm with beaches but also really cool other stuff to do like museums or historic sites. I’m a sucker for historic sites. Also I want a massage.
  9. Have you ever given much thought to the purpose of life?
    Yeah I have had recurring existential crises since middle school. I’ve come to the idea that the world is just going to keep going until everyone comes to realize whatever it is that we need to do to achieve harmony and balance, and then we’re all going to collectively move on to whatever incarnation of the world is next. I used to think we were getting closer to that, but now I think we’re backsliding. Either that or I was just wrong in the first place, and was unaware of the extent of all the oppression going on in the world.
  10. Do you believe in the existence of God?
    I don’t believe humans are the greatest power in the ‘verse, but I don’t know that that necessarily implies a single greater being. I think science, nature, the wind, gravity– all of those things count as greater than humans but not necessarily a god figure. I guess I’d call myself happily agnostic– I don’t really think a god needs to exist. Maybe one does, maybe not. My personal morality comes from my experiences and my understanding of the human condition. I believe we should be good to people because they deserve it on the basis of their humanity, not because they earned it or because I want some heavenly reward. I have seen religion do at least as much damage as good (which is not to say it is inherently bad, but it certainly has been used to justify some horrific behaviors), and I have no particular need for it in my life. If I can be happy and be kind, I think I have lived well.
  11. Have you ever volunteered for something?
    All the time. Unfortunately, I have a tendency to volunteer for more than I can actually take on, so I quit things a lot and that makes me feel like a flake. I should probably stop that.

And now my questions for my nominees:

  1. As a child, what did you want to be/do when you grew up?
  2. Did you end up being/ doing that thing? If no, why not? If yes, was it everything you expected?
  3. What’s the last book you read or movie you saw in the theater? How was it?
  4. What is your favorite food to eat?
  5. What is your favorite food to cook?
  6. What is your favorite memory?
  7. Do you have pets?
  8. Are carbs really evil?
  9. What’s your go-to news source?
  10. What’s your favorite season and why?
  11. What is your favorite non-screen (computer, tv, smartypantsphone) activity and why?

Have fun y’all! I look forward to your answers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

