Back at it!

on

The other day I got a membership to the student rec center on campus. I’ll have free access in the fall, once I’m officially a student again, but I was able to get a half term membership at the student price. This will allow me unlimited access between now and September 18.

It’s important to me that I make it worth having spent the money– even half term at the student price is something I had to give some thought, since we are by no means rolling in the dough. However, I decided that if I could follow through, my health is worth the financial cost. So far, I think I’m on the right track– though it’s only been 3 days.

Today, I combined the treadmill at the gym with the Couch to 5k training app I downloaded months ago. Day 1 is a 30 minute workout: You start with a 5 minute brisk walk to warm up, and then alternate 60 seconds of jogging with 90 seconds of walking for 20 minutes, and then 5 minutes of cool down walking. I managed to go 1.76 miles and burn 477 calories! I feel pretty good about that for the first day.

I came home and ate a reasonable lunch, and now I think I’ll pass out on the couch for a bit. I woke up with a headache and while the exercise seemed to help, it’s still bugging me. I made sure to get plenty of water, but I’m tired and am so grateful that it’s the weekend. It’s been a long and busy week! Glad I was able to end it on a high note. 🙂

Have a great weekend, all!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. simplystacy05 says:

    Good for you. I also need to workout. So not motivated though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just keep at, and it will get easier with each day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lifeasagaymom says:

    Drink lots of water! You can do it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

