WOTNW – What’s On the Needles Wednesday

I haven’t been doing a huge amount of knitting since the Bug showed up in our lives– I managed a bonnet and booties when my niece Zuri was born, and I have half a pair of 2 at a time socks still on the needles, and I think those might be the only finished objects I have since she was born in September. But DarBug’s first birthday is coming up, and it’s always been my thought that I would make her a sweater every year for her birthday. It’s perfectly timed, since her birthday is in early Fall so I can make it just a little big and it should see her through the winter. But there are less than two months until her birthday, so I have to get on it! I chose the Strawberry Jumper by Brought Up By Wolves. It’s simple and adorable, and works well with the yarn I already had. I can’t remember what the colorway is called, but it’s a lovely grass green. I have a possible plan to add some duplicate stitch sheep to the body, but I haven’t decided yet. I think I’ll wait to see how it turns out before I go adding to it! The pattern is top down and starts out knit flat to make a keyhole opening in the back (this is important in order to accomodate my kiddo’s big ol’ noggin). Then it is joined to be knit in the round for the remainder of the yoke and body. The problem I’m having is that I inevitably get a row of twisted stitches when going from flat knitting to knitting in the round. I know I can fix the stitches by knitting through the back loop, but it doesn’t fix the problem– it just puts it off until the next row. The only way I have found to avoid the twisted stitches altogether is to KTBL until the bind off. This is certainly do-able, but slows me down considerably (did I mention I only have 7 weeks to finish this thing? And I have very little knitting time these days!) and frankly it’s obnoxious. If anyone has any suggestions on this point I would appreciate any feedback! In any case, here’s my progress so far:

wpid-20150721_214011.jpg

It doesn’t look like much, but I’m excited to watch it grow– just as I’ve been enjoying watching my little Bug grow so big these past 10 1/2 months! She and MamaRae are on their way to California along with Opa and Grandma, and they’ll be gone a whole week! I’m sad and lonely already, but I’m hoping I’ll be able to get some good work done in the meantime. But before I head off to do just that, let me share the most lovely little tidbit that Darwin shared with me yesterday. I was sitting in the backseat of the car with her and kissing her toes and each time I did, I said “Kiss!” and she started repeating it (though it was often just “tsss!”). Then, after her nap, she crawled into my lap, said “tiss!” and gave me a big sloppy one on my cheek.

wpid-20150721_164258.jpg

Best. Feeling. Ever. I love this kid so hard!

wotnw

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Shannon says:

    What a great idea to make a sweater each birthday!

    Like

    1. buggleboo says:

      Thanks! We’ll see if I keep up on it, especially if/when we have another kiddo! But it’s a fun thought anyway. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a lovely “tiss”. I am sure every stitch would be done with love, wish I had suggestions to make. Happy knitting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

