Auntie Leah Travels to Pittsburgh

Last week, I had the distinct pleasure of meeting my new niece. She is a beautiful, chubby little thing with a head full of dark, downy hair. I had forgotten just how silky newborn hair is.

I had to travel all the way across the country to get to her, starting my journey with a 2 hour shuttle drive to the airport, then a red-eye from PDX to DFW and finally to PIT. By the time I reached my final destination, my body had no idea what time it was, it just knew it was tired and hungry. I can’t sleep in an upright position, so I had about 90 minutes of broken sleep that night. But you know what? It was worth it.

I spent a blissful week snuggling my niece, spending time with my older sister and brother in law, and even a fair amount of relaxing (newborns are much less mobile than 10 month olds!). I even got a brief visit with my younger sister, whose visit was ending just as mine was beginning, so we got about 24 hours of a partial sister reunion (partial because JB, the youngest, wasn’t there). It was a lovely time, and the only thing that made me want to leave was an intense yearning for my own wife and baby. Hopefully the miles between our two households will somehow allow for the cousins to meet and even get to know each other. Hopefully. Somehow.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I simply adore babies. They are just wonderful cute bundles of humanity 🙂 I practically had to hold myself from having a bakers dozen.Enjoy her as much as you can, because they grow up so fast. :(Those red eyes can be very stressful because you need to wake up at a Godforsaken hour in order to be ready to catch one and they so keep to schedule.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. buggleboo says:

      I cried when leaving because I realized she’s going to be a completely different person next time I see her. I can’t afford to travel much so I don’t see my family nearly as much as I would like. 😦 Thankfully, technology allows me to watch her grow through pictures and video. It’s never enough though…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It never is, at least we can be thankful for those times we have with them. Cheers

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

