The times they are a-changin’

Day 2 of Blogging 101 encouraged participants to change the title and tagline of our blogs. It took me a while to think of what to change it to, though I was already aware that I didn’t love what I had. Buggleboo: Stories from a life. Bland. Vague. Accurate, but only because it was so broad.

I went back to the post I published earlier today, and considered what I wanted this blog to be. I began thinking about the research I did for my Master’s thesis, and the themes that emerged from that (though what set me down that thought process, I’m not sure). I thought about how my participants made choices that were counter to the dominant ideas of what is or should be, and how finding community with others who made similar choices helped them to create space in which they developed new ideas and new narratives of what could be.

I realized that this is exactly what I hope to create with this blog. In creating and finding that community that I wrote about earlier, I want to connect with other narratives that mirror or parallel my own. I want to carve out and maintain space for others who have ideas and stories that run counter to the mainstream to voice and even amplify those counternarratives. I want to connect with people, and connect people with each other, who want to raise consciousness, much like in the women’s lib movement of the 1960s and 70s, by sharing the experiences that so many of us live but are rarely spoken. I think blogs have a star spot in upcoming social revolutions, and I for one am looking forward to that.

Leave a Reply

