Multitasking

on

We all know parents have to be excellent multi-taskers, but sometimes I wonder if I’ve over committed.

I finished my Master’s degree in December, when Bug was 3 months old (I defended my thesis the day after her 3 month birthday, in fact!), and promptly applied to a PhD program at the same university, but different program. Even though it’s a different department, I’ll be working with the same advisor (MC). This pre-existing relationship definitely has its perks– I’m certain it had a little something to do with my admission to the PhD program, and she’s amazingly supportive of her students as parents (she was also our midwife, after all).

However, the other effect of this relationship is that it doesn’t matter whether I’m actually enrolled in a program or not, I’m doing projects at MC’s urging. From mid February through the end of April, I was working on an internship for the Midwifery Education and Accreditation Council, and immediately after that ended I started work on data review for a large research project. This is great because the research project work is paid, and it all counts toward internship hours that I will need for my doctoral program (MC said I can count these hours retroactively, when I start the program– I’ll be able to complete a large portion of my internship before I even start classes!). Next week, we’re meeting to talk about getting a publishable article out of my Master’s thesis work. Because I needed another thing to add to my plate. Obviously.

Today she contacted me to see if I would be interested in joining a new project, one which would get me two new publications to add to my CV. Obviously I’m *interested* but can I take on another project? I’m working 30 hours a week at the law firm, working on the data review, will soon be writing an academic article (probably a 3 month project, give or take) plus I have a 7 month old. Career-wise, long term, it’s no question. Anything to add a line to my CV, right? I am an academic, after all. Life-wise, though, it might be unrealistic, and could put more pressure on MamaRae to pick up the slack. I’m not sure I can do that to my family…

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Shannon says:

    And I thought I was busy! Good for you though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. buggleboo says:

      Thanks! I have a hard time saying no, especially when it’s my advisor asking/recommending. I have a tremendous amount of respect for her and always feel the need to “prove” myself. It’s hard to find where to draw the line!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. If MC ever reads this I can decide if she’ll be touched that you think so highly of her or tell you to knock it off. Ha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. buggleboo says:

      Don’t think i haven’t thought the same thing, haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

